23 May St. James A.M.E. Church
According to tradition, the church was organized in 1867 in a blacksmith shop on Penney Hill. The present church was constructed in 1899 by builder R.H. Humbert. The brick Gothic Revival structure features a square tower topped by an octagonal spire sheathed in patterned metal on the left façade. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places.