Historic Places and Sites

  • Bethel AME Church in Laurens SC. Organized in 1868, this Romanesque Revival church was built in 1910 by Columbus White, 1857-1945. Two structures he designed and built in the City of Laurens, Bethel AME Church and the Brown-Franklin Building, are......

  • Bettis Academy and Junior College, established in 1881 and closed in 1952, is significant for its role in the primary, secondary, and higher education of African Americans in what is now Edgefield, Aiken, Greenwood, and Saluda Counties from the late......

  • Built in the 1830s, this Greek Revival historic home was the site of the final meeting of the Confederate War Council with President Jefferson Davis on May 2, 1865. Open Friday and Saturday 1:00pm-5pm February-May and September-December. Open Tuesday-Saturday 1:30pm-5pm......

  • Cokesbury College was established in 1854. The college and the surrounding Cokesbury community– represent an extraordinary glimpse at an early planned utopian community committed to innovative education for young men, young women and for emancipated slaves. At its peak, it......

  • This area includes a Confederate monument and a granite marker listing the 10 governors and 5 lieutenant governors of South Carolina from Edgefield County. A life_sized bronze statue of Edgefield County’s native son, Senator J. Strom Thurmond, can also be......

  • This historic building currently serves as a genealogical and historical research center focusing on the Old 96 District. It is the headquarters for the Courtesy Center and Archives, the visitor and information center for Edgefield County. Located on Courthouse Square,......

  • At the Diamond Hill Mine you have the rare opportunity to collect your own crystals. Its “unsalted”, meaning everything you will find came from this actual mine. Over millions of years, erosion has occurred to the southern part of the......

  • Built CA. 1898, this steam-powered mill employed a milling process pioneered earlier by inventor Oliver Evans which virtually eliminated manual labor. First known as the McCormick Enterprise Ginnery, the mill became Dorn-Finley Co. in 1917, its purpose “to operate and......

  • The church was organized in 1752. The present stone building was erected in 1843. Sixteen soldiers of the Revolutionary War are buried in the cemetery. The rest of the cemetery was principally composed of emigrants from Ireland and Pennsylvania with......

  • Built in 1839, the Courthouse was designed by Robert Mills, a South Carolina architect who is credited with designing the Washington Monument. Located on Courthouse Square, Edgefield....

  • Edgefield Methodism is probably as old as Edgefield. Circuit riders conducted services at Edgefield Court House in the late 1790s. After moving to various locations throughout the area, Edgefield United Methodist found it’s permanent home in 1841....

  • An 1839 service of worship held at the Court House is the oldest indication of an Episcopal presence in Laurens, SC. Immediately following the Civil War, only three families remained and there were no services. With the construction of the......

  • This campus is home to several fine historical buildings, the most prominent of which is the Erskine Building built in 1892 and characterized by its dome and two towers....

  • The Gray Court-Owings Historical Society was organized in February, 2001 with fourteen dedicated members and has grown to thirty members. It was founded to preserve the history and historic structures of this small rural area. The Historical Society provides personalized......

  • Built in the 1770s, the historic Guillebeau House followed a typical French Creole or Huguenot style. The two bedroom home has been renovated to accommodate guests. Call ahead for a tour or to stay overnight....

  • Pan for gold and discover the history of gold mining in McCormick County in a park setting. Located on SC 28, McCormick. Open May-October every 2nd and 4th Saturday 9:30am-4:30pm. Guided tours may be arranged....

  • Built ca. 1820, this classic example of South Carolina architecture now serves as a museum filled with many fine antiques. Located at 544 West Main Street, Laurens. Open by appointment. Free admission....

  • Nestled in the heart of Greenwood, S.C., Lander University is a state-assisted, coeducational, four-year university with approximately 3,000 students. Throughout their 145-year history, Lander has enrolled and graduated people who think and create, who inspire and lead, and who break......

  • Built in 1838-40 and remodeled in 1911 and again in the 1970’s, this building is a fine example of Greek Revival architecture in the rural South. Located on Town Square, Laurens....

  • Built ca. 1830, it was the home of South Carolina Lieutenant Governor James H. Tillman. It now serves as the headquarters for the Edgefield County Historical Society. The house features a Strom Thurmond Memorabilia Room containing historical and personal artifacts......

  • Designed by Atlanta architect G.L. Norman, the McGowan-Barksdale-Bundy House is an excellent example of the Queen Anne Style, characterized by towers, turrets, multi-faceted roofs, and the utilization of windows in different sizes and shapes and the use of various textures......

  • Musgrove Mill State Park and Historic Site is located just off of I-26, on the northeast edge of Sumter National Forest. There are 2.3 miles of walking trails winding their way through this historic site, immersing the hiker in Revolutionary War history, providing an opportunity to enjoy the beauty of the South Carolina piedmont. ...

  • The Depot, one of the oldest buildings in the Town of Ninety Six, was built by Norfolk Southern Railway in 1852. In 1856 US Senator Preston Brooks held his re-election speeches there after resigning for striking US Senator Charles Sumner......

  • Visit the site of the first land battle of the Revolutionary War. Our Visitor Center features exhibits and a videotape about the event. A mile-long trail includes the site of a frontier settlement with a trading post, a French and......

  • Oakley Park was built in 1835 by Daniel Bird, a Virginian who came to Edgefield and became a very successful cotton planter. After the War Between the States, it was purchased by General Martin Witherspoon Gary, a former Major-General of......

  • Presbyterian College is located on a striking 240-acre campus of natural beauty steeped in South Carolina history in Clinton, between Columbia and Greenville, S.C. Since 1880, PC has been offering challenging academics and a culture of honor, ethics, and service......

  • The grandmother of John C. Calhoun and 22 others were buried in a common grave, marked by 2 large rough stones, after being massacred by Cherokee Indians in 1760. Located on SC117, Troy, a dirt road. Tours available....

  • According to tradition, the church was organized in 1867 in a blacksmith shop on Penney Hill. The present church was constructed in 1899 by builder R.H. Humbert. The brick Gothic Revival structure features a square tower topped by an octagonal......

  • This church was designed by Mr. John Rudolph Niernsie the architect of the State House in Columbia and built in 1858....

  • Hand-carved by Dario Franco Rossi, an Italian artist and sculptor, the monument honors soldiers from the Abbeville District who served in the Civil War....

  • Trinity Episcopal Church is the oldest church building now standing in the town of Edgefield. The church was built on land deeded by Edmund B. Bacon to the Wardens and Vestrymen on September 15, 1835 and the building was completed......

  • For more than 125 years, this church has stood as a historical and spiritual landmark. The stained glass Chancel window, given by a church in Greenville and made in England, was delivered to Trinity after being run through a Charleston......

  • Willowbrook Cemetery is the second most historic cemetery in South Carolina, and is overflowing with “residents” who carved their place in local, state, and national history. The oldest marked grave in Willowbrook belongs to Pierre LaBorde who was a native......