skip to Main Content
Gettys Road McCormick South Carolina 29835 US

John de la Howe School is the second oldest institution in the Carolinas, established in 1797 in accordance with the will of Dr. John de la Howe, a French physician who originally settled in Charleston at age 50 and eventually migrated to what is today McCormick County. Tradition places his birthplace in Abbeville, France, as he chose that name for the western tip of the Ninety Six District when counties in this portion of South Carolina were formed in 1785.

McCormick County

Open by appointment M-F 9am-430pm

Back To Top